Pressing eyeballs of the mind

In just over a month from now my first novel will be available for human consumption around the world. I have tried to write something unique and raw and scary, something that will stick to the mind of the reader for years to come. I pushed and shoved and knifed the literary and moral envelope and will probably draw down upon me the wrath of certain segments of the population regarding the content of my book. You won’t find me remorseful or apologetic for it, and I’m certainly not going to be affected negatively by the criticism. Those who complain are hypocritical, and that’s cool by me, because we all are masters of hypocrisy as we perform certain mortifications on a daily basis. The vast majority of us sit in our comfortable chairs with our mocha lattes or mountain dews and eat the flesh of dead animals (no, I’m not a vegetarian nor do I espouse its beliefs; I always like to have meat every day when I can.) and surround ourselves with the remnants of murdered animals or plants. You cannot escape from the death all around you; the very cells of your body die every day and are either expelled or cannibalized. I found a way through my novel – OOBERS – to explore the unspoken ways that people can die. I believe that just below the initial revulsion you feel upon reading OOBERS, there is a fascination and curiosity alive and well within your psyche that keeps your eyes glued to the scene, that gets your blood thumping and pushes you into a primal space where you feel MOST alive. When you hear a collection of emergency vehicles sirens wailing, does not a part of your mind conjure up a horrible accident with glimpses of bloody, broken bodies? When you are on the Interstate and encounter unscheduled bumper to bumper traffic, does your mind not sail up ahead and imagine the carnage that must be all over the highway? Has your mind not lingered in Jeffry Dahmer’s apartment, watching as he practices his sickness? Each of us has had moments of total debauchery; that is one of the things that makes us human. I will not be bound by any unwritten laws of decency. People get slaughtered in ways that will make us faint from fear were we there when it happened. I am not afraid of writing the darkest side of human behavior.

 

In 1983 I saw a movie called Videodrome starring James Wood. It was, among other things, a statement about the power of imagination. Here is the last scene, when the main character moves into the next phase of his life: http://youtu.be/j1ckiKF5DMA . Videodrome is one of the movies that influenced my literary tastes. Another chilling and visceral movie that helped shape my deep interest in the darkest corners of the mind was Angel Heart with Mickey Rourke, Robert DeNiro and Lisa Bonet. These and others films such as The Hills Have Eyes and Night of the Living Dead and the Texas Chainsaw Massacre fed my interest of the macabre. I could actually carry on forever talking about the library of horror movies and books I’ve experienced. There are even websites today that highlight the disgusting and extreme, such as rotten.com. There once was a sub genre of fiction horror in the late 80s and early 90s called Splatterpunk – extreme graphic, gory and unlimited depictions of horror – that never really took off, but OOBERS is going to bring it back with a vengeance. When you read OOBERS, try to remember my promise: The books in the OOBER series will get progressively darker. My goal is to shake you up and wake you up, and if you throw up in the process I’ll consider that as five stars with an asterisk. Have a big bowl of Spaghetti-Os before you read it, and tell me how it went.

About this entry